Log in


Log in

Who's Who in eeasc

EEASC members are valued educators from across the state with many varied experiences. Meet some of our Board members, Leadership Team, and featured members here! 

Sarah Whitmire

Sarah Whitmire is the Education Director at Conestee Nature Preserve in Greenville, SC. She holds a Bachelor's Degree in Wildlife Biology and a Master's Degree in Secondary Science Education from the University of Georgia. In addition to her work with Conestee, Whitmire has experience as a high school science teacher, program director for a residential environmental education program, and wildlife field technician. In addition to her duties at Conestee, Sarah currently serves as the State coordinator for the Leopold Education Project and co-coordinator for Project WILD. She has been a member of EEASC since 2017 and currently serves as President. 

Chenille Williams

Chenille Williams has worked as an environmental educator since 2011 and is currently an Energy Specialist for the South Carolina Energy Office where she conducts education and outreach on energy efficiency, renewable energy, and clean transportation across the state. Chenille holds a B.S. in Biology from Bennett College for Women and a Masters of Earth and Environmental Resources Management from University of South Carolina. She’s also a visual artist, tribal fusion bellydancer, and lover of Battlestar Galactica (the 2003-2009 version). Chenille has served on the EEASC board since 2017, EEASC Vice President 2019-2021, and President from 2021-2023.

Chanda Cooper

As a naturalist and environmental educator, Chanda enjoys studying nature and helping others make discoveries about the natural world. Through her work with the Richland Soil and Water Conservation District, she mentors school conservation projects, provides professional development opportunities for educators, and leads hands-on classroom conservation programs for preK-12 students. Chanda holds a BS in Biology and a Master’s in Earth and Environmental Resources Management from the University of South Carolina. She serves on the boards and leadership teams of the Environmental Education Association of South Carolina, Southeastern Environmental Education Alliance, South Carolina Project Learning Tree, South Carolina Forage and Grazing Lands Coalition, and Midlands Local Food Collaborative. She lives, works, and plays on her family’s farm near Bishopville, SC.

Rosemary Martin Jones

Rosemary Martin-Jones is the Clemson Extension 4-H agent for Richland County. She is a lifelong resident of the Columbia, South Carolina area. Rosemary holds a BS degree in Microbiology from Clemson University and an AS degree in Medical Laboratory Technology from Midlands Technical College. She has been in the environmental education field for about eight years, having spent most of her career at the American Red Cross in the clinical sciences field as a lab technician, educator, supervisor, and manager. Rosemary is a certified environmental educator through the PEEC (Palmetto Environmental Education Certification) program and a Midlands Master Naturalist. In addition to serving on the EEASC board as secretary, Rosemary serves on the board of directors of the South Carolina Wildlife Federation.

Amy Umberger

Amy Umberger, the resident scientist at Dutch Fork Elementary Academy of Environmental Sciences was named South Carolina’s outstanding earth science teacher by the National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT) in 2023. This award recognizes Amy’s excellence in earth science teaching, which focuses on inquiry and real-world application. She believes that all students can learn and have a desire to connect to the natural world and teaches students to work collaboratively in groups outdoors and on field studies. Amy is also a long-time member and board member of the Environmental Education Association of South Carolina (EEASC). Amy holds a bachelor’s degree in K-8 elementary education and an I.M.A. in natural sciences K-8. She has been teaching for 30 years. Under Amy’s leadership Dutch Fork Elementary has earned all four superlatives awarded by EEASC’s SC Green Step Schools Initiative: Conserve, Protect, Restore, and Overall School of the Year.

E.V. Bell

E.V. Bell was selected for the 2023 South Carolina Environmental Awareness Award. As Marine Education Specialist for SC Sea Grant Consortium, E.V. works to connect coastal and ocean scientific research with formal and nonformal educators and communities in an effort to increase scientific literacy, workforce development and natural resource management. E.V. also serves as adjunct faculty at the College of Charleston and currently serves on the boards of the Environmental Education Association of SC (EEASC), the Southeastern Coastal and Ocean Observing Regional Association, and the South Carolina Association of Natural Resource Extension Professionals. SC’s professional certification program for environmental educators—the PEEC Program—exists because of the vision, passion, and dedication of E.V. Bell. EEASC officially adopted PEEC (taking responsibility for its administration, funding, and sustainability) in 2021, and the program continues to grow and flourish under E.V.’s leadership.

Peter Lauzon

Peter Lauzon is a long-time science educator with over 35 years of professional teaching experience.  Most recently, Peter is a STEM educator at the Center for Advance Technical Studies in School District 5 for Lexington and Richland Counties. Peter serves on the EEASC Board as the Treasurer. Peter is an advocate for public education and the environment.  As a public education advocate, Peter serves fellow educators and the community by serving on the LexRich5 Education Association Board and THE SCEA Board.  Peter has earned several honors including the NEA Foundation’s Award for Teaching Excellence and the Global Fellowship.  Peter also won the SCAD Secondary Teacher of the Year award in 2018.  Peter is an Associate Commissioner for the Lexington County Soil and Water Conservation District. This summer Peter will attend a class on Disease and Immunity sponsored by the NIH.



701 Gervais St., Suite 150-538

Columbia, SC 29201-3066


Social Media

Search Our Site

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software